JACKSON, Miss. (March 19, 2018) – Today, Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant signed a bill into law prohibiting most abortions after 15 weeks, defying a Supreme Court opinion barring states from regulating abortions before 24 weeks.
Rep. Becky Currie (R-Brookhaven) sponsored House Bill 1510 (HB1510). The new law prohibits doctors from performing abortions after a probable gestational age of 15 weeks except in a medical emergency or in the case of severe fetal abnormality. Gestational age is calculated from the first day of the mother’s last menstrual period.
Under the proposed law, any physician knowingly performing an abortion after 15 weeks would be subject to losing their medical license. Doctors would be required to ascertain the probable gestational age before performing an abortion.
The House passed HB1510 on Feb. 2 by a 79-31 vote. On March 6, the Senate approved an amended version of the legislation by a 35-14 vote. The House concurred with the Senate amendments sending the bill to Bryant’s desk. With his signature, the law went into immediate effect.
Twenty states have banned abortions at 20 weeks or later. HB1510 pushes the limits further. With the governor’s signature, Mississippi becomes the first state …
Read more at The Tenth Amendment Center
(The opinions in this article are the opinions of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of Southern Nation News or SN.O.)